Lane Receives SUTASA Award for Undergraduate Teaching

Congratulations to quantitative doctoral student, Stephanie Lane! At the Chancellor’s Awards Ceremony on April 18, 2013 Stephanie was awarded the Student Ulanendergraduate Teaching and Staff Award (SUTASA) for her outstanding undergraduate teaching of quantitative methods. This award, designed and administered by the Executive Branch of UNC’s Student Government, recognizes professors who have “demonstrated and consistent teaching excellence, success in positively affecting a broad spectrum of students, and creation of a dynamic learning environment.” 

Quant Student Acknowledged with Enoch Gordis Research Recognition Award

Jim McGinley, quantitative student, recently won the Enoch Gordis Research Recognition Award.  This award is given by the Research Society on Alcoholism (RSA) in recognition of outstanding biomedical and psychosocial research among graduate students and postdoctoral fellows.  Jim won this award for his research on innovative modeling framework for ordinal adolescent alcohol use data.

Grants Awarded

The following individuals in the department have recently been awarded new grants for their research:

  • Sierra Bainter, Quantitative Student (sponsored by Dr. Patrick Curran), predoctoral fellowship from NIDA, Novel Application of Bayesian Methods for Modeling Substance Use Trajectories
  • Dr. Kathleen Gates, Quantitative, R21 by NIBIB, Data-driven Approach for Identifying Subgroups Using fMRI Connectivity Maps
  • Dr. Kathleen Reissner, Behavioral Neuroscience, R00 by NIDA, Contribution of Glial Glutamate Transport and Transmission to Drug Abuse
  • Dr. Kurt Gray, Social, grant from University of California (sponsored by John Templeton Foundation), The Immortality of Morality
  • Dr. Charlotte Boettiger, Behavioral Neuroscience, grant from The Foundation for Alcohol Research, Neural Circuit Bases of Impulsive Choice in Emerging Adults and Heavy Drinking Adults
  • Drs. Beth Kurtz-Costes, Developmental, and Keith Payne, Social, R03 by NICHD, Children’s Implicit and Explicit Stereotypes About Academic Abilities

Several Graduate Students of Psychology Receive External Awards

The following students have been awarded either an external fellowship or grant for the 2012-2013 academic year to aid them in their research.  They will be recognized at the 2013 Graduate Student Recognition Celebration in April hosted by the Graduate School.  Congratulations to all!

Courtney Cameron, Behavioral Erol Ozmeral, Cognitive
Lahnna Catalino, Social Christine Paprocki, Clinical
Domenic Cerri, Behavioral Elise Rice, Social
Cara Damiano, Clinical Jessica Solis, Clinical
Ellen Fitzsimmons-Craft, Clinical Gretchen Sprow, Behavioral
Steven Holochwost, Developmental Jonathan Sugam, Behavioral
Shawn Jones, Clinical Audrey Wells, Behavioral
James McGinley, Quantitative Bharathi Zvara, Developmental

Professor Recognized for Distinguished Scientific Contributions

Robert MacCallum, Professor, is the recipient of the 2011 Division 5 Samuel J. Messick Distinguished Scientific Contributions Award. This award is presented each year to honor an individual who has a long and distinguished history of scientific contributions to Division-5-related areas. Evaluation, Measurement, and Statistics represent the American Psychology Association’s Division 5.

Gottfredson Awarded 2010 Lyle V. Jones Award

Quantitative graduate student, Nisha Gottfredson, was recently awarded the 2010 Lyle V. Jones Award in recognition of outstanding scholarship and citizenship as a graduate student in the L.L. Thurstone Psychometric Laboratory. Nisha’s research focuses on the development and application of statistical models for the study of change over time.