Skip to main content

The Department of Psychology and Neuroscience is extremely pleased to recognize Oluwatamilore Kolawole, who has made persistent and consistent efforts to better the lives of individuals of vulnerable populations, especially women and Black and Brown individuals. She serves in numerous service organizations, including SPARK (to support women of color as they transition into and through Carolina), Minority Advising Program, NAACP-Chapel, Black Student Movement, Compass Center (supporting families through domestic violence) and also serves as a trained doula, just to name a few examples. What should be highlighted is that Ms. Kolawole does not only participate in numerous service organizations but she often willingly takes on the tremendous responsibilities of leading these organizations; for example, she serves as a medical brigade leader for Global Brigades, Vice President and Artistic Director of Ebony Readers Onyx Theater (which uplifts Black and Brown voices, holding poetry workshops for the community), culture chair of UNC Project Heel and as Service and Education co-chair, and now, chair of Women in NAACP. Thus, it is with extreme enthusiasm that we award Oluwatamilore Kolawole as the 2023 Donald T. Lysle award recipient.

The Donald T. Lysle Award recognizes an undergraduate student majoring in either psychology or neuroscience who has made exemplary service contributions. This award honors Dr. Donald Lysle who has served as Chair since 2007. Dr. Lysle completed his B.S., Magna Cum Laude; M.S. and Ph.D. from the University of Pittsburgh and has been a faculty member at Carolina since 1990. Aside from his great service as Chair of a large department for several terms, he is known, in particular, for his compassion and service for others.

Oluwatamilore will be honored at the 2023 Chancellor’s Awards Ceremony, the only campus-wide recognition program at UNC. The award ceremony acknowledges student excellence and achievements in academia, student life, governance, and many other areas. The 2023 Chancellor’s Awards Ceremony will be held on Tuesday, April 25, 2023 at 2:00 pm in the Great Hall of the Carolina Student Union.

Comments are closed.