Skip to main content

Diversity & Equity Leadership Subcommittees


The Diversity and Equity Leadership Committee in the Department of Psychology and Neuroscience is composed of eight subcommittees, each composed of faculty, postdoctoral fellows, graduate students, and staff. Two faculty members co-chair each subcommittee. Learn more about the subcommittees’ objectives and meet the Co-Chairs below.


Faculty Recruitment & Retention


Arnold, Jennifer
Co-Chair | Professor
337B Davie Hall
(919) 843-5737
jarnold@email.unc.edu


Bauer, Daniel
Co-Chair | Professor
362A Davie Hall
(919) 962-4020
dbauer@email.unc.edu


Objectives:

  • Recruit additional BIPOC scholars to serve on the P&N faculty
  • Identify ways to help retain BIPOC faculty for the long term, including increased support of all faculty, equalization of service expectations, and recognition of a broader set of successes

Graduate Student Recruitment


Boettiger, Charlotte
Co-Chair | Professor
304B Davie Hall
(919) 962-2119
cab@email.unc.edu


Hussong, Andrea
Co-Chair | Professor
262 Davie Hall
(919) 962-6593
hussong@unc.edu


Objectives:

  • Develop and implement strategies to increase inclusion and enhance recruitment
  • Identify key areas related to graduate retention and inclusion and develop actionable steps

Pathways to Graduate School


Cohen, Jessica
Co-Chair | Assistant Professor
335A Davie Hall
(919) 843-2664
jrcohen@unc.edu


Fredrickson, Barbara
Co-Chair | Kenan Distinguished Professor
309 Davie Hall
(919) 843-0091
blf@email.unc.edu


Objectives:

  • Cultivate pathways for prospective graduate students from underrepresented groups
  • Become increasingly proactive in recruiting trainees of color and connect underrepresented students at all levels to our field, doctoral programs, and labs

Climate and Inclusion


Bardone-Cone, Anna
Co-Chair | Bowman & Gordon Gray Distinguished Term Professor
268 Davie Hall
(919) 962-5989
bardonecone@unc.edu


Telzer, Eva
Co-Chair | Associate Professor
218 Davie Hall
(919) 962-6758
ehtelzer@unc.edu


Objectives:

  • Enhance diversity in our program and departmental speaker series
  • Work toward a more equitable and supportive environment with a focus on climate and support and networking opportunities for BIPOC trainees

Education and Training


Baucom, Donald
Co-Chair | Richard Lee Simpson Distinguished Professor
264 Davie Hall
(919) 962-5035
don_baucom@unc.edu


Lindquist, Kristen
Co-Chair | Associate Professor
321 Davie Hall
(919) 843-6260
kristen.lindquist@unc.edu


Sheeran, Paschal
Co-Chair | Professor
323 Davie Hall
(919) 962-4872
psheeran@email.unc.edu


Objectives:

  • Provide educational opportunities and resources that allow faculty, students, and staff to engage in the evidence-based practices that increase diversity, equity and inclusiveness in the workplace and in teaching, research, and mentoring practices

Communication and Transparency


Gray, Kurt
Co-Chair | Associate Professor
327 Davie Hall
(919) 843-5426
kurtgray@email.unc.edu


Sheridan, Margaret
Co-Chair | Associate Professor
248 Davie Hall
(919) 843-3182
sheridan.margaret@unc.edu


Objectives:

  • Increase graduate student representation within faculty committees and meetings
  • Enhance communication on department diversity goals and initiatives

Teaching


Abramowitz, Jonathan
Co-Chair | Professor
255 Davie Hall
(919) 843-8170
jabramowitz@unc.edu


Harrison, Patrick
Co-Chair | Teaching Assistant Professor
241 Davie Hall
(919) 843-7000
pharrison@unc.edu


Objectives:

  • Create a database of anti-racism resources available to all course instructors
  • Develop and curate additional instructional resources to encourage course instructors to integrate DEI-related topics in all department courses

Accountability


Algoe, Sara
Co-Chair | Associate Professor
324 Davie Hall
(919) 962-2538
algoe@unc.edu


Gordon, Peter
Co-Chair | Professor
361 Davie Hall
(919) 962-2440
pcg@email.unc.edu


Objectives:

  • Work with all subcommittees to collectively set commitments toward diversity, equity, and inclusion using goals that are specific, measurable, and attainable
  • Ensure the subcommittees are not duplicating efforts and important DEI initiatives have not slipped through the cracks